The Italian powered clear of the pack on the tough roads around Lissone and forged on into the final 60 kilometres. Moscon was joined by Damiano Caruso (Italy/BMC Racing), with Angel Madrazo (Delko Marseille) bolstering their ranks as they caught the day’s breakaway.
Team Sky had worked hard on the front during the day to keep the early move in check, providing an ideal launchpad for Moscon’s move.
With two groups giving chase behind, Rein Taaramae (Direct Energie) made the bridge across the gap and it would be he and Moscon who headed into the final kilometre together.
Moscon played it cool to comfortably win the two-up sprint, taking his first victory of the year in the process.
A strong performance from the team was boosted further by the involvement of three new riders, with Eddie Dunbar, plus stagiaires Mark Donovan and Ethan Hayter, working hard on their debut in Team Sky colours.

Sport Director Dario Cioni was a happy man after the race and talked us through an impressive day for the team.

He told “It was a hard race and also a long way from the local circuit to the finish line. This was a challenge, but Gianni was very motivated to work and he’s done a lot of training up on the Stelvio. Obviously today he also wanted to show to the Italian team ahead of the world championships that he is ready to race.

“He did a ride very similar to what Egan (Bernal) did last year and we decided to take it on. Mark Donovan was pulling early on, and then Eddie and (Michal) Golas took it up before the last two climbs. That is where Gianni went and he managed to get away. It was a long way with a small gap, but we know he is a good time triallist so we were confident that he could hold on.

“When Taaramae came across that was a good thing and that helped a lot for the last 10km. Gianni played it really smart at the finish. He put himself in the best position and started the last kilometre on the wheel. He was very smart.”

Race result:
1. Gianni Moscon (Team Sky)
2. Rein Taaramae (Direct Energie)
3. Enrico Gasparotto (Bahrain Merida)
4. Luca Wackermann (Bardiani-CSF)
5. Pierpaolo Ficara (Amore & Vita-Prodir)