Scott-Orwell Wheelers are pleased to announce the 2018 edition of, Ireland’s most prestigious Criterium Race, the Stephen Roche GP.
Ireland’s largest cycling club, Scott Orwell Wheelers are proud to present the Stephen Roche GP in association with Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council as part of the Dundrum Festival 2018

This year, the action takes place on Wednesday June 20st. The evening will kick off with novice and youth races from 18.35, the Women’s GP at 19.20, and the Stephen Roche GP at 20.00.

Prestigious History
The Stephen Roche GP is Ireland’s most prestigious criterium race, running annually since 1995. The challenging but spectator-friendly circuit invariably produces great racing action for the crowd lining the roadsides and congregated in the central green area. The 1.3km loop is located in the housing estate where no less than three of the Roche family took their first tentative pedal strokes on the road to Tour de France glory.
Established as one of the ‘must do’ events on the Leinster racing calendar, the Roche Grand Prix traditionally boasts a who’s who of Irish road racing talent with the top short circuit racers in the country doing battle for one of local racing’s most prestigious trophies.
Past winners include professional cyclist and Orwell Wheelers member Nicolas Roche in 2008. Son of Stephen Roche, Nicolas’ palmarès include both the Irish National Road and Time Trial Championships, as well as a stage of the Vuelta a España. He is currently riding for BMC in the Critérium du Dauphiné.

The late Paul Healion won the Roche GP three times, including 2009 to become National Criterium Champion. 2011 winner Felix English went on to become 2012 National Criterium Champion, and is now riding for the team.

See here for a full list of past winners.

Just as last year, the men’s and women’s races will feature equal prize money, for a total placing prize fund of over €1,000.

Event Particulars

Date: Wednesday June 20th
• Sign-On Opens: 17:30 – 18:30
• Youth Race: 18:35
• Women’s Race: 19:20
• A/1/2/3/Jr Race: 20:00
Entry Fee:
• Seniors: €15
• Juniors: €5
• Youth: Free

• Sign-On and Parking is at Ballinteer Community School.
• Start line is 1.2km away in Meadow Mount Estate.

Route: Roche GP Route.

Full list of past winners.

1995	Scott McDonald		Orwell Wheelers
1996	Aidan Duff		Bray Wheelers
1997	Stephen O'Sullivan	Coors 
1998	Aidan Duff		Bray Wheelers
1999	S. Whelan		Swords
2000	Paul Healion		Usher IRC
2001	Ray Clarke		Classic Walls
2002	Graham Thomas		Finglas Ravens 
2003	Brian Ahern		Naas Fig rolls
2004	Colm Bracken		DHL Walls Cycles
2005	Paul Healion		Bio Agrico
2006	Morgan Fox		Murphy and Gunn/Newlyn group
2007	Philip Lavery		Usher IRC
2008	Nicolas Roche		Credit Agricole
2009	Paul Healion		South Dublin CC
2010	Mike Reddan		South Dublin CC
2011	Felix English		Science in Sport
2012	Philip Lavery		Node 4 Giordana
2013	Con Collis		UCD
2014	James Davenport 	South Dublin CC
2015	Jake Gray
2016	Mark Dowling		ASEA Wheelworx
2017	Philip Lavery		Unattached

Winners – Women’s Race

2015	Fiona Meade		Fearless Femme
2016	Susie Mitchell		Sundrive Track Team
2017	Fiona Guihen		Black Rose Racing


Advert (Advertise here : Email us [email protected])Viator