posted 15th June 2017

Destination Sport Mullingar Criterium Promoted by Lakeside Wheelers

Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar staged the club’s annual Criterium in the centre of the midlands town last night on what was a dry, but fresh evening for racing.

With a full programme of races for all categories, the action got under way at 7pm with the first of the curtain raiser events, the A4’s. This turned out to be a closely contested race and was won by Paul Heynen, Lucan LCRC who bravely held off a very game chase by Ian Lambden of the host club who rode strongly off the front of the main group.

At 7.30pm the A3’s took to the start line for 20 minutes and 2 laps of the very testing 1.2km town center circuit. This race was practically decided from the gun with Westport’s Ben Walsh (NRPT Titan Containers) taking a flyer from the off. His passage to the top step of the podium never looked in danger as he simply rode the chasers off his wheel and eventually lapped the entire field to come in a comfortable winner ahead of Seán Landers, Stamullen RC  in 2nd and Callum O’Toole, Scott Orwell in 3rd.

There was a great buzz around the track all evening waiting for the blue riband A1/A2/ A+ event which had a stellar line-up. The current National Crit champion, Mark Dowling (Velo Strata Revolution) was in town along with the leader of the National Cycling League, Matteo Cigala (Aqua Blue Academy) and the in-form Philip Lavery. However, all eyes were on the hometown favourite, Lakeside Wheelers Lifetime member and 2015 National Road Race champion, Damien Shaw (An Post Chainreaction).

The formative laps saw Dermot Trulock (Lucan LCRC) riding at the front of the race testing the elasticity of the bunch. It wasn’t long before the inevitable snap came leaving all the main protagonists settling in for what appeared to be a big showdown. However, with the big names playing a very tactical marking game, the young 19 year old Trulock set about his business and in the end he went on to deliver a masterful display of power riding that saw him take a comfortable victory. He was followed home by Dowling, who took flight from the chasing group mid-way through proceedings, however it was a case of “a little too late” as the Lucan teenager had, by that time, built an unassailable lead. Cigala took 3rd place in the sprint to complete a great evening’s racing and entertainment for the Mullingar crowd.

Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar would like to thank the local business people, Mullingar Gardai, Civil Defence and Westmeath Co. Council for their co-operation with the running of this event and also the inimitable Gay Howard for his commentary.

Results of the Destination Sport Mullingar Crit

A 1 & 2 Race
1st    Dermot Trulock, Lucan CC
2nd   Mark Dowling, Strata3
3rd    Matteo Cigala, Aqua Blue
4th    Adam Stenson,Bikeworkx
5th    Damien Shaw, An Post Chainreaction
6th    Philip Lavery, Unattached

A 3 Race
1st    Ben Walsh NRPT
2nd   Seán Landers, Stamullen RC
3rd    Callum O’Toole, Scott Orwell
4th    John Priest, Lucan CC
5th    Seán Kennedy, NRPT
6th    Eoghan McArdle Ruane, NRPT

A 4 Race
1st    Paul Heynen, Lucan CC
2nd   Ian Lambden, Lakeside Wheelers CC
3rd    Raymond Daly, Lucan CC
4th    Mick Reynolds, Lakeside Wheelers
5th    Alan Flynn, Team 905
6th    Aidan Farrell, Lakeside Wheelers