Conor Dunne Photo by Caroline Kerley

Dunne Wins the Elite Men’s Road Racing National Title

Conor Dunne (Aqua Blue Sport) has won the Elite Road Race title at the Cycling Ireland National Championships in Sligo. The 170km course was tackled by over 120 of Ireland’s best riders, with ten laps of a tough circuit taking its toll. Darnell Moore (Team Caldwell Cycles) won the silver medal ahead of Mark Downey (Team Wiggins) who won bronze.

The young Team Caldwell Cycles racer also picked up the U23 title, with Downey and defending champion Michael O’Loughlin (Team Wiggins) rounding off the podium.

Lara Gillespie photo by Cycling Ireland

Earlier today Lara Gillespie (Scott Orwell Wheelers) was crowned Junior Women’s Champion in a two-rider sprint for gold. (Results Click HERE) Castlebar Cycling Club’s Maeve Gallagher won the silver medal, with Gabriella Homer (Cycle Team Onform) winning bronze.

In the elite men’s race a strong group was established in the early laps, including many of the top professional riders. On the seventh lap a select group of four pushed ahead establishing a significant lead over the next group on the road including Dunne, Moore, Jamie Blanchfield (Team Viner Carepack Pactimo) and Robert Jon McCarthy (JLT Condor).

With two laps to go Dunne and Moore drove on increasing the gap. The Aqua Blue Sport racer made his intention clear in the last lap, digging deep to establish a solo lead on the final lap, crossing the line a minute clear of Moore to win his first National Title.

“I’m super, super proud,” said an emotional Dunne after the race. “I can’t really believe it, it’s been an up and down year. This last month I was just fighting for form and getting better and better each week, so I kind of knew I had a good chance of pulling it off today. My legs felt good today, and I just had to be tactically aware.”

Last year Dunne came close to pulling off the win and was happy to finally top the podium after a tough season – “I had a lot of good people around me telling me not to give up, and to keep on working. This year I feel a bit stronger again. I was never going to let it slip again this year, I’m just chuffed.”

Speaking after his elite silver medal ride and National U23 title Moore said – “it was a hard day out, I was up the road really in every move today, I kept on making the moves – I won the U23 jersey today, so I’m happy with that.”

Speaking after winning her Junior Road Racing National Title Gillespie described a hard race – “it was hard! I pushed hard on the hill every time, it was fast – we weren’t just going around – we pushed it.”

The junior race saw a select group of three make a move on the climb early on, with the pace whittling down to Gallagher and the first-year junior who worked together keeping the pace high.

Gillespie said “We were just alternating at the front, and then it came to the last hill and she (Gallagher) attacked, I got back on and she attacked again I got back on – we came to the line. Then we played cat and mouse, and I managed to just catch her, but it was tight!”


Elite Men

Rank Last Name First Name Team Result
1 Dunne Conor Aqua Blue Sport 4:02:37
2 Moore Darnell Team Caldwell Cycles 4:03:38
3 Downey Mark Team Wiggins 4:06:00
4 O’Loughlin Michael Team Wiggins 4:06:00
5 Potts Marc Un-Attached Ulster 4:06:32
6 Roche Nicholas BMC Racing Team 4:06:34
7 Dunbar Edward Aqua Blue Sport 4:06:38
8 Curry James Vélo Club la Pomme Marseille 4:06:38
9 Watson Lindsay Powerhouse Sport 4:06:38
10 Davenport James STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 4:06:38
11 O’Mahony Darragh CC Nogent Sur Oise 4:06:38
12 McLaughlin Ronan Team Viner Caremark Pactimo 4:06:38
13 Roche Alexis Cotes d’Armor Cyclisme 4:06:38
14 Smith Luke Team Viner Caremark Pactimo 4:07:10
15 Trulock Dermot Lucan Cycling Road Club 4:07:10
16 O’Connell Eoin Blarney Cycling Club 4:07:10
17 Rea Craig Team Viner Caremark Pactimo 4:07:10
18 Feeley Daire UC Monaco 4:07:10
19 Dowling Mark Un-Attached Leinster 4:07:15
20 Blanchfield Jamie Panduit Carrick Wheelers 4:07:56
22 Stenson Adam Speeder Cycling Team 4:13:09
23 McKinney Kevin Armagh City Cyclists 4:13:09
24 Kissane Conor Killarney Cycling Club 4:13:09
25 Sparrow Matthew Panduit Carrick Wheelers 4:13:09
26 McDunphy Conn Holdsworth Pro Racing 4:13:14
27 Grennell Andre Arcane Cycling Team 4:18:17
28 Greally Adam St. Tiernans Cycling Club 4:19:47
29 Mc Cullagh Matthew Sundrive Track Team 4:20:16
30 Ahern Eoin Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 4:20:28
31 Wright Jody Phoenix CC 4:20:28
32 McVeigh Ciaran Phoenix CC 4:20:31
33 Shearer Donal Phoenix CC 4:20:31
34 Kearney Aaron Team Viner Caremark Pactimo 4:21:05
35 Mullen Ryan Trek – Segafredo DNF
36 Bennett Sam BORA – hansgrohe DNF
37 McKenna Sean Holdsworth Pro Racing DNF
38 McCarthy Robert Jon JLT Condor DNF
39 Clancy Stephen Team Novo Nordisk DNF
40 Hennebry Conor Team Viner Caremark Pactimo DNF
41 Hahessy Seán Team Viner Caremark Pactimo DNF
42 O’Flynn Ronan Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club DNF
43 Grimes Ronan Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club DNF
44 Quigley Mark STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team DNF
45 Murray Stephen STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team DNF
46 Higgins Andrew Ballina Cycling Club DNF
47 Creighton Damien Ballina Cycling Club DNF
48 McGregor Adrian Dunloy CC DNF
49 Gault Johnny Dunloy CC DNF
50 McBride Michael AAA Cycling DNF
51 Kelly Simon Burren Cycling Club DNF
52 Taylor Jonathan Carn Wheelers DNF
53 Prendergast Charles Castlebar Cycling Club DNF
54 McCarter Darragh Donegal Bay Cycling Club DNF
55 Mullan Nathan Dromara Cycling Club DNF
56 Morton John Harps CC DNF
57 Reilly Mark Lucan Cycling Road Club DNF
58 Browne Mike Nenagh Cycling Club DNF
59 Kennedy Paul Newcastle West Cycling Club DNF
60 Handley Ciaran McNally Swords CC DNF
61 Christie Marcus PerformanceSBR DNF
62 Kavanagh Diarmuid Team Gerard-DHL DNF
63 Coyle David UCD Cycling Club DNF
64 Montgomery David Un-Attached Ulster DNF
65 O’Malley Seán Western Lakes CC DNF
66 Meaney Richard Westport Covey Wheelers Cycling Club DNF
67 Heaney Marc Asfra Racing Team DNF
68 Buller John Banbridge CC DNF
69 Murphy Stephen Black Rose Racing DNF
70 Brody David Castlebar Cycling Club DNF
71 Reilly Ryan CC Nogent Sur Oise DNF
72 Meskauskas Arminas Collins Cycle Centre Race Team DNF
73 O’Callaghan Mark CYBERTEAM ASD DNF
74 Carberry Keelan Four Masters CC DNF
75 McGinley Mark Four Masters CC DNF
76 Mc laughlin Mitchell Four Masters CC DNF
77 McCann Conor Inspired Cycling DNF
78 McAllister Matthew Island Wheelers DNF
79 Devlin Conor Island Wheelers DNF
80 Ryan Fintan DNF
81 Molloy Sean Nenagh Cycling Club DNF
82 O Neill Gareth Newry Wheelers CC DNF
83 Smailes Cian N-Fuse Identity Racing DNF
84 Chivers Andrew North Down CC DNF
85 Purcell Cathal Panduit Carrick Wheelers DNF
86 Young Xeno Powerhouse Sport DNF
87 Moore Calvin Team Caldwell Cycles DNF
88 Sutcliffe Cian Team Gerard-DHL DNF
89 Mc Mahon Sean Team Gerard-DHL DNF
90 Keogh Cian The Sports Room Racing DNF
91 McKenna Conor UCD Cycling Club DNF
92 Murnane Conor UCD Cycling Club DNF
93 Jones Simon UCD Cycling Club DNF
94 Knight Tom Un-Attached DNF
95 Gray Jake VC Toucy DNF
96 Foley Dylan Team Viner Caremark Pactimo DNS
97 Heather Mark Clontarf Cycling Club DNS
98 Smith Shane Moynalty Cycling Club DNS
99 Mulleady Joseph Yeats Country Cycling Club DNS
100 Teggart Matthew Team Wiggins DNS
101 Walsh Ben Vitus Pro Cycling Team DNS

McLaughlin Ronan Team Viner Caremark Pactimo
Smith Luke Team Viner Caremark Pactimo
Kearney Aaron Team Viner Caremark Pactimo

Gold for Conor Dunne
Video by James Gordon. Twitter Handle @jamesgordon89

Darnell Moore 2nd Place
Video by James Gordon. Twitter Handle @jamesgordon89

Advert (Advertise here : Email us [email protected])Viator